With social media taking over our lives these days, it would be no surprise if you would want to cut back on these platforms. Everybody has their accounts on the most popular social media. We spend a lot of time every day scrolling through Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, and Pinterest.

Liking, scrolling, following, and saving stuff on social media steals a lot of time from our life, so leaving a few social media platforms might be a good idea. The average person spends close to 4 hours on social media every day.

Four hours is just too much time to aimlessly spend on social media in one day. A couple of hours off your phone or PC would probably make for a lot of productive time doing other things.

The prospect of cleansing our lives of every social media account could be terrifying for almost anyone. Deleting Facebook, Instagram, or YouTube might be a bit too much to ask, so we will start small. Why not delete lesser-used social media accounts?

In this short read, you will learn about how to delete Pinterest account and how to temporarily deactivate it. Win back a bit of time and win back your life from social media.

Why Delete Your Pinterest Account?

The average Pinterest user spends 14.2 minutes on Pinterest every day. This might not seem like a lot. But Pinterest does not aim for users to stay for long hours on their service. Pinterest is mainly a traffic-driving tool to sell content on other websites.

Spending time on Pinterest usually means spending additional time elsewhere on the internet. Pinterest aims to redirect its users to sales websites of businesses. Pinterest may not only waste your time but also your money.

We are not saying that Pinterest is a total waste of your time and your money. Pinterest is a very concise and useful tool for picking up ideas in any career field. It is also a great means for exposure for businesses and brands.

Some people may not be conscious of the time they spend on Pinterest that having a Pinterest account could be a bane for them rather than a boon. If you are one of these people, then maybe being off the Pinterest platform or temporarily deactivating your account could be healthy for you. 

Other Reasons to Deactivate or Delete a Pinterest Account

Other real reasons warrant a deletion of a Pinterest account. Some are practical and some are just reasons for an account to be deleted. Here are some other reasons why a Pinterest account needs to be deleted:

1.  The account owner is deceased

If an account’s owner is deceased, then the Pinterest account wouldn’t be good for anyone anymore, would it? Relatives or friends of the deceased can submit to deactivate a Pinterest account and Pinterest will do the rest.

2.  Brand/Business is no longer operating

A lot of brands and businesses are on Pinterest. And some of these brands and businesses have gone under due to recent hard times. If a brand or business is no longer around, it might be a good idea to deactivate or delete its Pinterest account.

Pro Tip! You could switch to personal account instead of deleting or deactivating a business account. A personal account is more manageable and less hectic.

Deleting vs. Deactivating: What Is the Difference?

The fundamental difference between deleting a Pinterest account and deactivating one is that you can come back any time and reactivate a deactivated one but a deleted Pinterest account will be gone for good.

The processes of deactivating or deleting a Pinterest vary slightly but you can do both through accessing your Pinterest account settings.

In deleting your Pinterest, you will permanently lose all your pins and boards. Deactivating a Pinterest account will allow you to get back to your pins and boards upon reactivating your account if you ever decide to.

How to Delete a Pinterest Account

How to Delete a Pinterest Personal Account on Desktop

1.  Log in to Pinterest using a preferred internet browser on your PC.

2.  Click on the drop-down arrow beside your profile picture.

3.  Click Settings.

4.  On the following page, click on Account Settings.

5.  Scroll down to the Account Changes section.

6.  Click Delete account.

7.  An email will be sent to you to complete the final step.

8.  Follow the instructions on the final step email, and you will delete your Pinterest account for good.

How to Delete a Pinterest Personal Account on Mobile

1.  Log in to your Pinterest mobile app.

2.  Tap the three dots (…) in the upper right corner of your home screen.

3.  Tap Settings on the menu that follows.

4.  Tap on Account Settings on the menu that follows.

5.  Scroll down to the Account changes section.

6.  Tap Delete account.

7.  An email will be sent to you to complete the final step.

8.  Follow the instructions on the final step email, and you will delete your Pinterest account for good.

How to Deactivate a Pinterest Personal Account on Desktop

1.  Log in to Pinterest on an internet browser on your PC.

2.  Click on the drop-down arrow beside your profile picture.

3.  Click Settings.

4.  On the following page, click on Account Settings.

5.  Scroll down to the Account Changes section.

6.  Click Deactivate account.

7.  Click continue to deactivate your account.

How to delete a Pinterest Personal account on Mobile

1.  Log in to your Pinterest mobile app.

2.  Tap the three dots (…) in the upper right corner of your home screen.

3.  Tap Settings on the menu that follows.

4.  Tap on Account Settings on the menu that follows.

5.  Scroll down to the Account changes section.

6.  Tap Deactivate account.

7.  Click continue to deactivate your account.

Be a Hundred Percent Sure

There is no recovering a deleted Pinterest account, so you better be dead sure if ever you would want to delete your account. If you can’t say you’re a hundred percent decided on deleting, then there’s always the option of deactivating your Pinterest, just in case you feel like coming back to Pinterest in the future and planning to grow Pinterest followers.

Comments are closed.